Skip to content

To Hashtag or not to hashtag?

April 15, 2013

Hashtags, #tag…

I understand the want to show everyone what your post is about or what you are feeling but how much is too much?

Since the arrival of social media, the world has changed. People have stopped calling others over the phone, and would rather send a message over a social media website instead. Seems kind of pointless, seeing as a majority of people use their Phones, but that is a different story. Today I want to talk about hashtags, the descriptive hash, that lets everyone know what you are feeling, doing, seeing or even just complete utter nonsense.

The hashtag has been around for longer then you think. it has been used in IRC (internet relay chat), but it made its way to fame with the social microblogging website Twitter. Beginning July, 2009, Twitter officially began to hyperlink their hashtags.

Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against hashtags… Generally…

But it does get to me when people start to tag ridiculous and stupid things, such as: #yolo, #lol, #hehe. I’m going to stop there before I try to tear my fingers off. Its these irrelevant tags that get to me. Also its the amount of tags that people put on their posts. I am fine with people putting six or seven, its when it hits the ten plus mark that it gets to me.
There should be a limit on these things.

20130414-204458.jpg

I just want to know what other people think of these hashtags that have taken the world by storm. Even though at the time by this is posted, no one would have even viewed this blog. I remain optimistic.

P.

From → Explanations, Rants

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

ClassPiano

Free Sheet Music Composed by Regan Starr

honeynhero

San Francisco Bay Area portrait and nature photographer

Honest Toddler

juice, crackers. tv.

Thoughts on a Rampage

The dumping ground for my most rampant and genius thoughts